Home » Uncategorized » Dutch win again: St. Marys claims D4-9 3A title

Dutch win again: St. Marys claims D4-9 3A title

Final Tournament Brackets

CLARION — They won the District 9 Class AAA dual team title earlier this month. Now the St. Marys Flying Dutchmen wrestlers have a tournament title under their belts.

At Saturday’s District 4-9 Class AAA Championships, the Dutch only claimed one title out of four finalists, but put eight other wrestlers in the top four to edge District 4’s Jersey Shore for the team title, 161.5-157.5.

Winning the only title for the Dutch was Bill Gabor. Ray Dent, Tyler Yetzer and Josh Cameroni finished second.

Punxsutawney, with four champions in five tries in the finals, wound up third in the team standings. Winning for the Chucks were Joel Bowers, Kaleb Young, Josh Schuckers and Perry Arrington in succession from 132 through 152 pounds. The sophomore Young, who was the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler, and junior Arrington each won their second titles.

DuBois grabbed three titles with Brock Adams, Shae Bloom and Tom Sleigh, the state’s top-ranked wrestler in Class AAA at 195 pounds and now a four-time district champion. Sleigh becomes the 28th four-time D9 champion and fourth at DuBois, joining former Beavers standouts Zach Lundgren (2004-07), Chad Hoare (1998-2001), Mike Diaz (1996-99).

The top four finishers at each of the 14 weight classes advance to next weekend’s Northwest Regional Tournament in Altoona.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: