Home » Uncategorized » D9 Domination: Brookville wrestlers capture 2A title

D9 Domination: Brookville wrestlers capture 2A title

Final Tournament Brackets

CLARION — The Brookville Raiders sent a record 10 wrestlers to the finals and tied a record by winning six titles on their way to a record-breaking performance in the team standings at Saturday’s District 9 Class AA Wrestling Championships at Clarion University’s Tippin Gymnasium.

The Raiders scored 231.5 points, breaking Ridgway’s 222.5-point performance from 1998. They’ll send all 10 of their finalists to next weekend’s Northwest Regional at Sharon High School. The top four finishers at each of the 14 weight classes qualified for regionals.

Winning crowns for the Raiders and their Class AA Coach of the Year Dave Klepfer were two 3-time champs in seniors Brock Zacherl and Zach Vroman. Sophomore Taylor Ortz won his second title in as many tries, and senior Brodie Zacherl, junior Dalton Zimmerman and sophomore Bryce Town all won their first titles.

Defending champion Redbank Valley finished second with 191.5 points and won two titles with Willie Gruver and Ben Carrillo. The Bulldogs also send 10 wrestlers to regionals.

Three other wrestlers won their third D9 title — Coudersport’s Cody Bova, and Kane’s Cody Blankenship and Evan Delong, who was also named the Outstanding Wrestler after winning at 170 pounds. Bova and Delong were state runners-up last year.

Other district champs: Brockway’s Ryan Carlson, Cranberry’s Zach Bruce and Coudersport’s Forest Tuttle.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: