Home » Uncategorized » RBV wrestlers second to Berlin at Christmas Tourney

RBV wrestlers second to Berlin at Christmas Tourney

NEW BETHLEHEM — Host Redbank Valley and Berlin Brothersvalley combined to win 12 of the 14 weight classes, but it was Berlin which pulled away with the team title at this year’s Redbank Valley Christmas Tournament.

Berlin won seven titles and scored 264.5 points, well ahead of the Bulldogs’ runner-up 218 points. The Bulldogs won five titles — Ryan Kube at 106, Willie Gruver at 120, Tanner Altobelli at 126, Cal Haines at 220 and Ben Carrillo at heavyweight. Carrillo beat returning district runner-up Dylan Dinch of Smethport in the finals, 3-2.

Results posted below:

NEW BETHLEHEM — Here are the results from the Redbank Valley Christmas Wrestling Tournament held last Friday and Saturday.

Team Standings and Key

1. Berlin Brothersvalley (BB), 264.5; 2. Redbank Valley (RB), 218; 3. Sharon (S), 154.5; 4. Punxsutawney (P), 145.5; 5. Smethport (SM), 125.5; 6. Clarion (C), 113; 7. Northwestern (N), 108; 8. Sheffield (SH), 96; 9. West Shamokin (WS), 80; 10. Keystone (K), 65; 11. West Middlesex (WM), 51; 12. Brashear (BR), 15.


106: Ryan Kube (RB) maj. dec. Jules Hicklin (S), 15-5.

113: Thomas DeArmitt (BB) 5-0 in round-robin, Mitchell Murray (WM) second at 4-1.

120: Willie Gruver (RB) dec. Joey Swank (BB), 4-1.

126: Tanner Altobelli (RB) dec. Austin Alfreno (S), 5-3.

132: Joel Bowers (P) maj. dec. Rickey Prosen (SH), 12-0.

138: Kaleb Young (P) pinned Troy Hejazi (S), 2:48.

145: Braden Fochtman (BB) dec. Mitch Blose (RB), 3-2.

152: Taylor Cahill (BB) dec. James Duffy (SM), 2-1.

160: Bryce Fochtman (BB) dec. Keshon Truitt (RB), 3-2.

170: Trevor Moore (BB) pinned Akete Kindle (SM), :58.

182: Shane Pepper (BB) dec. Brendon Glover (WS), 7-5.

195: Toby Cahill (BB) pinned John Wissinger (WS), 3:29.

220: Cal Haines (RB) dec. Tyler Beal (K), 11-6.

HWT: Ben Carrillo (RB) dec. Dylan Dinch (SM), 3-2.


106: William Hockenberry (WS) pinned Alex Struble (C), 2:08.

113: Caleb Bailey (C) 3-2 record, Tristan Duffy (SM) fourth at 2-3.

120: Matt Wheeler (N) dec. Eli Lambiotte (P), 8-1.

126: Marcus Spittler (SM) pinned Nick Baughman (K), 3:42.

132: Kane McKenzie (BB) dec. Tristan Shaffer (C), 4-1.

138: Adam Shunk (SM) dec. Gavin Krosen (WM), 1-0.

145: Josh Schuckers (P) dec. Drew Burdick (SM), 3-0.

152: Sebastian Rinehardt (N) dec. Perry Arrington (P), 8-6.

160: Cory Buchanan (S) pinned Isaac Merritt (N), 2:06.

170: Alan Porreca (S) dec. Travis Perry (P), 2-1.

182: Kyle Panko (N) dec. Zach Stiglitz (K), 7-3.

195: Brylee Shumaker (RB) maj. dec. Alex Burkhart (C), 16-7.

220: Zach Sintobin (C) pinned Nate Zanoni (BB), 1:38.

HWT: Anthony Collins (BB) dec. Luke Shiock (P), 3-1.


106: Kyle Boyce (BB) pinned Kole Holden (SH), 2:13.

113: Kasmir Jiggetts (BR) 1-4, Austin Shaffer (WS) 0-5.

120: Tanner Barr (SH) pinned D.J. Templeton (S), :37.

126: E.J. Custer (BB) pinned Andrew Bullers (P), 2:24.

132: Andrew Campbell (S) pinned Austin Howard (N), 3:52.

138: Luke Gallo (RB) pinned Brian Fries (SH), 2:18.

145: Doug Grubbs (SH) dec. Chad Rodgers (K), 2-1.

152: Brian Brown (WS) dec. Jacob Troutman (C), 15-8.

160: Addison Hockins (C) maj. dec. Jordan Johnson (SM), 14-5.

170: Devin Schimp (RB) won by inj. default Matt Cherry (N).

182: Eric Lucich (WM) won by inf. default Beau Dignall (S).

195: Bryce Laughlin (S) pinned Asonte Turner (BR), 3:44.

220: Levi Bloom (SH) pinned Tom Flanders (S), 1:40.

HWT: Clay Markovich (N) pinned Zach Huet (C), 1:50.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: